Lee Marley Logo
Home Guestbook!
Email Archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Current

Wednesday, March 21, 2001

Happy Naw Ruz!
Today is the first day of the Baha'i New Year! So Happy New Year!

We had a party last night, lots of good food and it was fun to see everybody. I tried to take a picture of the "Haft-Sinn", but I'm still getting used to my digital camera and there wasn't enough light. Haft-Sinn means "Seven S's" in Farsi (Persian language) and has 7 things that start with S and represent spring time and the new year. I like it because it looks pretty and festive. Usually there is an apple, a plate of growing sprouts, a colored egg, some sumac (a spice), a mirror, a holy book, and maybe a goldfish in a bowl. Often there's some fresh flowers too. I tried to find a photo on the 'net to show you, but came up empty.

After the party, a couple of us stayed to help clean up. There were lots of desserts left over. I'm not eating carbs, so I offered to take them to work. I hope people at work will like the Baha'i New Year!

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

lee marley
11:40 a.m.

Previous Entry *** Next Entry
Recent entries include:

New Year's 2004 - Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2003

Ch-ch-ch-changes - Monday, Dec. 29, 2003

Catching up - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2003

When it rains snows, it pours blows... - Monday, Nov. 24, 2003

This and that... - Monday, Nov. 17, 2003

hosted by DiaryLand.com