Lee Marley Logo
Home Guestbook!
Email Archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Current

Friday, Oct. 26, 2001

My new obsession: Tap Dancing!

I took my first class last night. I loved it! My teacher's name is Mark, and my classmate's name is Angie. She is a cute 20-something and this was her 3rd or 4th class. One of my local friends should be joining us next week, so that will be 3 of us!

It seems that the places that sell tap shoes are geared for mommies - they open late and close early. I found a place that was open "late" (7:00 pm) on Thursdays. My class is 7:30 on Thursdays, so I figured I'd have to wait til next week for my first class. Lo and Behold! I was back in my car in plenty of time to make the class, so I went. I still need to get the taps actually attached to my shoes, but at least I've got the shoes and the taps now. I need to do a little research to find a real shoe-maker. I'll check with Mark to see where he gets his shoes done.

So - the class! We did shuffles, flaps, kicks, buffaloes, and Irishes. And a fancy side-jump-twirly thing (heel, heel). And slide-ball-changes. Darned if I can do it today, but I did pretty well last night! Mark said I seem to get the weight-shifts fast.

This morning, I was only a little sore. It's been about 40 years since I last tapped! So I feel like this is something I'll really have fun with.

As Angie left after class, I asked if she was named for that Rolling Stones song. She grinned - "yep"!

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

lee marley
4:28 p.m.

Previous Entry *** Next Entry
Recent entries include:

New Year's 2004 - Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2003

Ch-ch-ch-changes - Monday, Dec. 29, 2003

Catching up - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2003

When it rains snows, it pours blows... - Monday, Nov. 24, 2003

This and that... - Monday, Nov. 17, 2003

hosted by DiaryLand.com