Lee Marley Logo
Home Guestbook!
Email Archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Current

Wednesday, Nov. 06, 2002

The Panels are up!

Back when I designed the barn and turn-out area, I ordered some fence panels for the turn-out and a big roundpen. (I also ordered walls and fronts for two stalls.) They were from a company in Texas. I didn't realize these things weren't in stock, they are made as they are ordered. I knew Murphy was coming around the end of September or beginning of October, and I ordered back in August. The soonest they could make the panels and stalls was October 24! Yikes!! The thing was, they were about a third of the price of locally available panels; with shipping they were still about half the price. So I decided to use electric fence temporarily, and get a few local panels (to make stalls) until the ordered stuff came in.

Just after our first snow a few weeks ago, I got the call - my things were being shipped! Yay! They arrived just in time for rain and more snow! The last few days, though, have been really mild - all the snow is gone, yesterday we had strong winds and temperatures of almost 60F. Today was beautiful - shirt sleeve weather! So Dick and I put up the panels for the turn out.

With the old electric fence, I had a turn-out area about 24 x 75 feet. And since the horses had a lot of respect for the fence, the useable area was a little smaller. Now, the turn-out is 100 x 30 feet, with a little 20x20 area sticking out! And they don't have to be afraid of the fence!

Not only that, but it looks so much nicer - if you look at previous entries, there are little "flags" to mark the wire. Now it's very neat and tidy and there's even an archway over the gate!

This shot looks rather bare right now, but the tree in the front is nice and full in the summer - there will be lots of shade!

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

lee marley
8:51 p.m.

Previous Entry *** Next Entry
Recent entries include:

New Year's 2004 - Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2003

Ch-ch-ch-changes - Monday, Dec. 29, 2003

Catching up - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2003

When it rains snows, it pours blows... - Monday, Nov. 24, 2003

This and that... - Monday, Nov. 17, 2003

hosted by DiaryLand.com