Lee Marley Logo
Home Guestbook!
Email Archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Current

Tuesday, March 27, 2001

Several things today:

1) I put the navigation words for the "Current" page so they look more like buttons. My sister (my favorite guinea pig) didn't realize there was anything besides the latest entry.

2) Did I mention I'm looking for a job? I was checking the in-house job postings, and the postion that was meant for me was there! I should mention that I had worked on an astronomy satellite a few years ago. It was a great project and I enjoyed my work there. Better, my team liked my work! Well, the satellite had a problem and the project ended prematurely, without getting the science we were trying for. There is a new project with my old team leader, and the postion that was meant for me is my old position on this project! Breathlessly, I filled out the transfer paperwork and ran it over to Human Resources (across campus). On my way back, I ran into the teamleader. Budget screw-ups. Somebody counted the money wrong. She has to re-work the whole thing. So I'm now feeling a little deflated.

3) My hubby thought he had to move[1] this weekend. The landlord talked to him yesterday about a wild shuffle. There are 3 rental units on the property. I'll call them the main house, the beach house and the cottage, just for reference. The landlord & his wife live in the main house, my husband lives in the beach house and the cottage gets rented to weekend visitors.

The wild shuffle was as follows: Landlords' kids move into the main house, landlords move into the beach house, and hubby moves into the cottage. The cottage is tiny and has no kitchen or closet space. But it's quite a bit less per month! So we were figuring out how to squeeze his 4 conga drums and vibraphone and various other requirements (like the bed) into the cottage. And where to stash the stuff that won't fit.

This morning, the landlord's wife put her foot down (thank heavens!) Nobody is moving anywhere! So that little flurry has been avoided, at least for now.

[1]No, hubby and I don't live together right now. We just got married a few months ago, and our jobs keep us more or less anchored to our current addresses (80 miles apart). He's a salesman whose clients are all down south, and I work at Caltech (despite entry #2) and my line of work doesn't exist down by him. So we live on the phone and in our cars, traveling for a "weekend at the beach" (his place) or a "weekend in the mountains" (my place).

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

lee marley
02:43 p.m.

Previous Entry *** Next Entry
Recent entries include:

New Year's 2004 - Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2003

Ch-ch-ch-changes - Monday, Dec. 29, 2003

Catching up - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2003

When it rains snows, it pours blows... - Monday, Nov. 24, 2003

This and that... - Monday, Nov. 17, 2003

hosted by DiaryLand.com