Lee Marley Logo
Home Guestbook!
Email Archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Current

Tuesday, April 3, 2001

I signed up today to be a "production assistant". Drove all the way out to West Hollywood, met Phillip and asked some questions. If by some chance my grant gets renewed or I get another position here on campus before I ask for a job assignment, I can get my membership refunded.

It sounds like fun work. They guarantee to send you on jobs. The jobs are all in LA or nearby, not out of state or out of the country. They get vendors to give mostly free classes on state-of-the-art software and equipment. Starting out (like I would be), it's only $100/day. Sounds like a lot when you put it like that, but think it out - that's ~$26K/year if you work every day. And there are no benefits like sick/vacation days or insurance.

I think it's ok as a "fall back" plan; I suspect I could get up to speed in one of the more technical post-production areas pretty quickly. There are positions for sound and video editting, which I think would be pretty cool. But I wonder about the start up time.

I just hate not knowing.

I spoke to my friend K who really thinks I'm smart (it's so nice to have friends like that!). She is amazed that I am agonizing about finding another job. She used to work at a grocery store, and had a stroke of luck to get a position here. And I'm asking her about working at a grocery store! (some things don't make sense do they?) She has friends (mainly a boyfriend) who does lots of photography and she thinks I could do Photoshop work for him if they have any openings where he is.

So keep your fingers crossed, please!

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

lee marley
5:26 p.m.

Previous Entry *** Next Entry
Recent entries include:

New Year's 2004 - Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2003

Ch-ch-ch-changes - Monday, Dec. 29, 2003

Catching up - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2003

When it rains snows, it pours blows... - Monday, Nov. 24, 2003

This and that... - Monday, Nov. 17, 2003

hosted by DiaryLand.com