Lee Marley Logo
Home Guestbook!
Email Archives

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Current

Wednesday, April 11, 2001

First the weekend report - We did get to the Pet Expo, but not to the Micro Fest.

Dick needed some jeans, so I took him to "Broken Horn". If you're a horseperson from these parts, you know this is the horseman's mecca! I knew we could find a good fitting pair there, and they wouldn't be those goofy fashion jeans that fit so strangely. We found a nice pair of Wrangler Cowboy Fit. Wow! Not too tight, but snug in all the right places.

Next, on to Pomona! After a few wrong turns and a minor discussion of just skipping the whole thing, we found the fairgrounds! It's smaller than I thought, at least this year. We saw potbellied pigs - very cute when they are babies, but I think I'd have to get them small to appreciate them as adults. We saw some georgeous llamas, very exotic and camel-like. Their feet remind me of little slippers! Not hard hooves. (Yes, I know they are camelids, but I've not seen camels up close before, either!)

We checked out the horse show ring. There was a Peruvian Paso show going on, traditional dress and tack. The gaits were so smooth on the horses that were working evenly, but some of the competitors were a little off. I glanced at the riders, and saw that the riders of the "off" horses were trying to watch their horse's feet! So they were off-balance, and it really affected the balance of the gait. I was happy to be able to pick the top and bottom of each class - maybe I haven't entirely lost my eye!

The cats were pretty amazing. Mostly abyssinian, persians, main coon, and cornish rex, with some others like american and british shorthairs, siamese, and some I'd never heard of, including the Oriental Shorthair. Wow - I fell in love with that odd face and the distinctive profile, and the fine markings on the forelegs.

We couldn't leave without seeing the dogs of course! Dick fell in love with the Salukis. So noble and regal. Their display had a lot to do with it, I think. It had a middle eastern flair, and Dick's a real sucker for anything Morrocan. We checked out the Brittney spaniel, but it was a momma dog and not very big. (Of course, we think Junior is the most handsome brittney ever!) It was mid-afternoon, and she was napping with her puppy. We also checked out the "World of Dogs" performance. It was kinda hokey, but very fun and the dogs and owners were so enthusiastic, we couldn't help but have a good time. Our favorite was watching the dogs leaping hurdles, only to have a bulldog come out, burst thru the hurdles, and carry off one of the crossbars!

By this time we were hungry and it was late afternoon, so we decided to skip the Micro Fest and ate some great Mexican food (that's in my locarb journal if you want to look.)

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

lee marley
5:11 p.m.

Previous Entry *** Next Entry
Recent entries include:

New Year's 2004 - Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2003

Ch-ch-ch-changes - Monday, Dec. 29, 2003

Catching up - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2003

When it rains snows, it pours blows... - Monday, Nov. 24, 2003

This and that... - Monday, Nov. 17, 2003

hosted by DiaryLand.com